Octopus Games Bento #58

Today’s bento is my entry to the Japan Society’s virtual bento battle contest.  My bento is based upon on a Japanese print by Utagawa Kuniyoshi called Octopus Games.  You can see more of his work at the Japan Society’s website.  I found these little seasoned octopus, or chuka idako at Don Quijote this morning and then dressed them up with kamaboko eyes and mouths.  I also made a headband for one of them using kampyo.

Check out the entry by Bento Zen who also entered a bento into the contest.  Gamene’s “Woman in a Hilltop Teahouse”  bento is absolutely amazing!  There’s still some time left for you to enter the contest too! :D

35 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

35 responses to “Octopus Games Bento #58

  1. I love this I love this! So cute! I love the kampyo headband and the angry eyes on the octopuses..and the oval wooden box is just perfect for this scene.

  2. Omg, those are so cute! If actual chuka idako can be cute, these totally are! Love the headband!

  3. Super cute! Those little octopus are really great! Looks like they are having fun there. Love the headband and the way you decorated their faces. All the best for the contest Susan!!

  4. Angry red octopus! LOL Very creative Susan. Good luck to you! ( I said the same to Megan) :)

  5. Hi Susan, I here thru Lia Chen, Bentolicious! Always admire the cute creations on all bento bloggers. Love these cute octupus, really makes me smile.

  6. javapot

    ha ha, this looks fun, the two octopus at the bottom really look like they are fighting!!

  7. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  8. this is awesome susan! i studied all the prints yesterday, and i knew *exactly* which one this was as soon as i saw it — what a cool, fun interpretation, i love it! best of luck fellow entrant, you are some serious competition :-)

    oh, and thanks very much for linking me!

  9. They looked so funny and kawaii!

  10. love the kampyo headband Susan! good luck in the contest!

  11. Oh my… this is really great!… but I think I don’t want to eat it ^^” Looks to real xD

  12. Wow I’ve never seen octopus so small. Great job capturing the print.

  13. Wow! I have never seen anything like this! I have certainly never seen real mini octopuses (Octopi?!) used in a bento before, and such a great colour! Love the facial expressions! Wishing you the very best in the competition!

  14. Wow, what great faces on the octopi!

  15. That is the most adorable bento I have ever seen. At first I was trying to figure out what you made the cute little octopus out of – it never dawned on me they could actually be real octopus. They are adorable (is that an appropriate way to describe these sea creatures). How do they taste? Very fun – beautiful job for this contest.

    • Thanks Karina! :D They actually taste pretty good. Kind of chewy but soft, like cuttlefish and seasoned very nicely. LOL, you just have to get past how they look. :D The kids won’t eat them though.

  16. Super cute!!!

    I love the one with the head-band!! :)

    I also love this bamboo styled bento box? So lovely!!!

  17. That is wonderful! I love the funny little octopus!

  18. This is really fantastic!!!! :-)

Leave a Reply

