Pillsbury Buttermilk Biscuit Bears and Bunnies #111

When it comes to Pillsbury ready made doughs, the possibilities for using them in bentos are endless.  I made these bears and bunnies using Pillsbury buttermilk biscuits.  To make them, flatten out a biscuit and spoon some of the filling into the center.  Bring the edges to the center and crimp together.  Roll gently into a ball and place the crimped side down on your prepared pan.  I used a silpat, but parchment paper works just as well.  From another biscuit take small pieces to roll into balls (for the bears) or oblong (for the bunnies) shapes for the ears.  Bake in a preheated 400 degree oven for about 12 minutes until golden.

The filling contains rotisserie chicken, sun dried tomatoes, Monterey Jack and cheddar cheeses.

Bears and bunnies before baking.

After baking and cooling, I stuck in jeweled picks for the bunnies’ noses and hat picks for the bear’s noses.  If you don’t have picks, just use raisins, a chocolate chips, or something similar for the noses.  Then I used the 1/2 inch sized sugar eyes and attached them with a tiny dab of peanut butter.

37 Comments

Filed under bento, bunny bento, cheese bears, food for kids, kid's lunch, kids bento

37 responses to “Pillsbury Buttermilk Biscuit Bears and Bunnies #111

  1. Darling! I cannot wait to get home and try some of these biscuit creations!

  2. You’re on a roll with the Pillsbury dough!
    Those bunnies and bears look so wide-awake it’s hilarious!
    I wanna see you sculpt a rock star next….

  3. I love this! Again, the Pillsbury thing. So far no luck in our local grocery stores. Might try another city but there are no Pillsbury buttermilk biscuits to be found here! The filling in this one is amazing.. These are almost too cute to bite into…

    • Thanks Chantal! :) Do you guys have any kind of ready made dough? Even frozen bread or pizza dough would work, just need to adjust a little on the cooking times.

  4. You make me want to bake! And I have a fear of dough! LOL

    Super-duper ideas and so cute too!

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention Pillsbury Buttermilk Biscuit Bears and Bunnies #111 « Hawai`i's Bento Box Cookbook, Bentos and More for Kids -- Topsy.com

  6. Aww so adorable! The cutest biscuit I ever saw … If you live nearby then I will take baking class from you LOL :D Thanks to share your wonderful bento with us!

  7. Those are the cutest koala bears! The bunnies too. I’ve used biscuit with filling, but nothing so cute. You are so clever! Thay are just adorable! I can’t get over it.

  8. hahaha…they are adorable…*thumbs up*

  9. I love this one! So cute yet soooo yummy. Just because it’s ‘convenient’ doesn’t mean it have to look flat and round!

  10. Kit

    Really love all these biscuit ideas! So cute. And, the hidden surprise is great.

  11. what a great idea to add ears to them! Next time I make my pizza manapua I’ll definitely try adding the ears! :)

  12. Super cute and a great way to use convenience foods in an unconventional way. :)

  13. Pingback: Silly Summer Peaches Bento #112 « Hawai`i's Bento Box Cookbook, Bentos and More for Kids

  14. the bears and bunnies are so cute and so well accessorized! great idea to use hats for noses!

  15. a-doughable! so sweet, and the how-to’s as charming as the final sweet product!

  16. Adorable ^^~
    WOW, u not only a talented bento maker,
    And baking skill are so great too

  17. STG

    made the bears today for my son’s lunch!!! He loved them (and they were so simple). Thank you for the wonderful ideas!!!!

  18. I made these the other day and posted them on my blog. they are so easy and turned out well. thanks for the tutorial. I hope you post many more, I am such a fan and love learning from you!

  19. can you make these the night before and reheat?? or just pack cold ?

Leave a Reply

