Lady Bug Sandwich #84

Sean asked me for a bento today, so I made him this super simple one for his lunch. It’s a lady bug sandwich with ham, cheddar, and lettuce.  I filled the box in with red seedless grapes and mandarin oranges.  Sean was super happy to see his bento and asked if he could eat it already at 9 this morning, but I told him he had to wait for lunch. :)

For those of you who bought my new cookbook, there is an error in one of the recipes that unfortunately was edited in.  It is the Slow Cooker Roast Beef recipe and if you skim down to the end of the recipe it reads “To make the gravy, mix the fat with the cornstarch and water mixture and sugar.”  It should read  “To make the gravy, mix the sauce with the cornstarch and water mixture and sugar.”.  My apologies for that egregious error and it will be rectified in the next printing. :(

Large Lady Bug cookie cutter from the Executive Chef at Ward Warehouse.

27 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

27 responses to “Lady Bug Sandwich #84

  1. So cute! Will definitely have to check out Executive Chef. Don’t worry, hopefully most people wouldn’t want to make gravy with fat and will not be confused!

  2. This is so cute. Then he can just slip the cheese on the sandwich. How many of those big cookie cutters did you get? I wonder how much Ward Warehouse has changed since I’ve been there? Is the Old Spaghetti Factory still there? Sorry for all the questions!!! How nice that he wanted to eat is at 9:00am!

    • Thanks Lyndsey! :D I got the lady bug cookie cutter and they also had this pretty dove cutter that I picked up as well. LOL, the Old Spaghetti Factory is still there and Ward has expanded quite a bit. Tons of new shops, restaurant, and a theater. How long has it been since you were last here?

  3. Cute ladybug! I would want it for my breakfast too! :D

  4. Hi Susan, what a coincidence! My son’s name is also Sean and I made a ladybug sandwich on the same day as you did.
    From another corner of the globe, Karen =)

  5. That ladybug is so simple and so delightful!

  6. Lynne

    Obviously, Mark was asleep on the job! Regardless, your recipes are AWESOME and so kid-friendly!!! I love the ladybug sandwich too! You are too creative!

  7. The ladybug looks lovely! A friend of mine has been saying that the only food her child likes in a bento is shaped sandwiches. I’ll send her this link.

  8. Oh Susan this is adorable, my kids would want this for breakfast too! By the way Sorry for the long pause…I am due any day now but missing your lovely bentos. Had to check in and see what you’ve been creating and as always it fantastic!

    • Thanks Jenny! :) You must be so busy and excited waiting for your little blessing! I am so excited for you and I wish you and your family the best. I can’t wait to see a picture of the newest addition! :D

  9. i love this idea, simple but adorable! i am not at all surprised to hear that sean couldn’t wait to eat it… i wouldn’t be able to wait either, tee hee! :-)

  10. sue thomas

    I would like to know what you used for the eyes on this ladybug sandwich?
    Thanks for any info you can give.

  11. Pingback: Bento Box Lunch « koshersamurai

  12. Pingback: 20 creative food ideas for kids

  13. Pingback: 20 kreative madforslag til børn - JuniorBusiness

  14. Rachel Spann

    Sooo cute! I can’t wait to do th is for my little girl. I wondered what the little ladybug was? A pick? Also what is that by the orange that has carrots on it? I’m new to trying bento boxes and need a lot of info lol.

Leave a Reply

